How to write compelling LinkedIn connection request messages

How to write compelling LinkedIn connection request messages

Networking for Newcomers

Building your LinkedIn network is a great way to stay in touch with alumni, colleagues, and recruiters, as well as connect with new, professional opportunities. Members become 1st-degree connections when they accept your invitation.

First-degree connections are given access to any information you’ve displayed on your profile. To ensure an optimal site experience, LinkedIn members can have a maximum of 30,000 1st-degree connections.

What is a connection request message on LinkedIn?

Building your network on LinkedIn begins with sending out connection requests to other professionals. On any profile, when you click on “Connect” to add them to your network, you’ll see a message as follows:

image.png

Wanna know how I message people On LinkedIn?

If yes, then do give it a read:)

I receive several Dms every day on how do you message someone on LinkedIn. Every day, my friends and juniors ask me how r u able to get internships through this platform. What do you include in your messages, that we don't ?

These are some of the problems that they come with. To solve all those problems, I'm sharing few tips for writing an effective LinkedIn message. I found these tips super helpful for myself and do recommend others to follow up the same .

1) Start with a specific title

Before your write to someone on LinkedIn, think about why are you writing to him/her:- -Is it because u want some advice from them? -Is it because u want to collaborate for an event? -Is it because u want to work in their organization?

Now use this info to write your subject line. For example, you can start with:-

"Loved your post regarding internships. I want your advice in these areas only and that's why I connected with you..".

2) Introduce yourself

When you see someone you don't know, what do you do- ofc, you introduce yourself, right?

Do the same on LinkedIn too:)

Pro-tip for Intro: Always tailor your intro according to a specific connection. Make it personalized. Don't send automated messages. Try to write it in a one to three line only.

For example Hey, I'm XYZ and I'm currently pursuing an ABC degree from XYZ College.

3) Get to the main point- Why r u writing to him/her?

Now you writing to them because of all those reasons that I mentioned in the first point. Now try to convert that subject line into a para.

For example:- I'm reaching out to you because I am preparing for my placements and I'm going to sit for your company's interview tomorrow. Could u pls give me some tips for the same?

Pro tip: Be always to the point in why r u reaching out to them because if they aren't clear in what you are seeking, they won't help you;)

4) Wrap it up and say thank you

Always remember that asking a favor from someone and saying a thank you at the end of your text would show you as a humble person who is genuinely interested in the help. So always end your messages with a thank you.

For example, you may write:-

Thank you for reading the text. I'm hoping to hear from you. Thanks and regards. XYZ

Last but not the least, Responding to the New Connections

Keep it short And sweet. No need to write “War and Peace”. Don’t pitch anything – whether it’s to ask for a meeting, for business or for a job. The purpose of a thank you is to build a relationship for the future, so simply thank the person for connecting.

It’s enough to thank them for accepting your invite and to expand on what you wrote in the Connection Request.

Keep in mind that sending a genuine “thanks for connecting” on LinkedIn followed by a personalized line or two can do wonders for both your network and your conversion rates in the future.

Template-1

Good Day{First name}, I’m also in the [group name], and I’ve really enjoyed reading your posts. The piece you shared about [topic or subject] was pretty thought-provoking. I’d love to keep in touch and learn more about your work.

Best, {Your first name}.

Template-2

Greetings {First name}, I came across your profile in the [group name] Group on LinkedIn. Your post recently about [topic or subject] really resonated with me, so I thought I’d connect with you to keep in touch and maybe bounce ideas off each other at some point in the future!

All the best! {Your first name}

Conclusion:

Hope these points will help you out , in building a strong Network and to attract more opportunities in such a competitive World. Being engaged and responsive will help you adapt faster and transition smoothly to the market!

Catch me up on my socials: linktr.ee/ShivamGrg and I will meet you in the next one 👋

Thank you so much for reading 💖